Report an accessibility problem

ASU MBE Optoelectronics Group


Allison McMinn joins the team

The group welcomes new Ph.D student, Allison McMinn, who obtained her BS in electrical engineering at Southern Illinois University, and has won prestigious Graduate Research Fellowship from NSF and ASU FSE Dean’s Scholarship.

Professor Zhang and other collaborators reported the first electrically injected GeSn semiconductor laser

A paper published in Optica reports the first electrically-injected GeSn MWIR lasers epitaxially grown on Si substrates. It is authored by our group alumnus Prof. Shui-Qing(Fisher) Yu at University of Arkansas and his collaborators from our group, Wilkes University, Dartmouth College, UMASS Boston and Arktonics LLC.

Cheng-Ying Tsai traveling to Apple Inc.

Cheng-Ying Tsai will join Apple Inc. in Cupertino, CA for the spring internship. We are looking forward to have more collaborations with Apple Inc. in the future.

ASU is 7th in national research ranking

Arizona State University continues its ascent in the national research rankings, rising to No. 7 in total research expenditures for universities without a medical school, according to the latest National Science Foundation Higher Education Research and Development rankings. For fiscal year 2018, ASU reported a total of $617.7 million in research expenditures, a record level.


Article Link:

Jia Ding won the Best Paper Award at PVSEC

(Best Paper Award Ceremony at the 29th PVSEC; Fourth from the left: Jia Ding)

Professor Zhang gave a keynote as Jia Ding received the best student paper award for his take entitled “Comparison study of 1.7-eV MgCdTe solar cells and applications for tandem cells” at the 29th International Photovoltaic Science and Engineering Conference (PVSEC) in Xi’an China. Notably, each area only has one best student paper award, and his area, Thin-Film area, is one of the two largest, had 117 presentations. The conference had over 1500 attendees. In the recent 10 years, many students from our group have received numerous best student paper awards or best poster awards from various solar cell conferences like PVSC and PVSEC. Congratulations to Jia and his collaborators Jacob Becker, Cheng-Ying Tsai, Calli Campbell for their achievements!

Cheng-Ying Tsai and Tyler McCarthy attended NAMBE 2019

Congratulations to Cheng-Ying Tsai and Tyler McCarthy for their successful presentations, entitled “Vertical Hole Transport in InAs/InAs1-xSbx Type-II Superlattices” and “Structural and Optical Properties of PbTe/CdTe/InSb Heterostructures Grown using Molecular Beam Epitaxy” at the 35th North American Conference on Molecular Beam Epitaxy (NAMBE 2019), Ketchum, Idaho. Thanks to CY and Tyler for their great contribution.